Teeth, Petrol, Tesco, Barclays, The RAC and the NHS

It is 5.52 am on Sunday morning, and I am sitting here – still in agony with my teeth (or lack of). I thought I would record the night’s activities (and the lead up) so I can tell Clare when she wakes up in the morning and wonders where I am… I am in too much pain to go to bed anyway…. and quite like the idea of blogging it.

So far….. 2 Weeks ago I got toothache, haven’t really slept since… and have spent half the week cheek to bag with a pound of frozen sweetcorn…. have been to the dentist three times and the doctors once… and have had 2 large teeth extracted…. and have broken down in Oxfordshire… and been rescued by the RAC.

Sunday: 3.00 a.m. in so much pain I could stand it no more. As all men do, I persuaded Clare to phone the emergency doctor… and after some confusion was told I needed to go to the hospital to the dental access centre.

3:10 a.m. Got in my little car – after 2 miles realised it was telling me I had 1.5 litres left – didn’t want to have to call out the RAC again…. so….

3:05 a.m. Filled the car with fuel

3:12 a.m. Selected a glucose drink from the shelf…. didn’t want to be left without any glucose if I had to wait in the hospital for any period of time…. Mam, and Clare wouldn’t be too impressed… I had also forgotten my insulin…

3:15 a.m. Tesco Credit card was refused at garage

3:20 a.m. Barclays Debit card was refused at garage

3:30 am. In agony I am standing on the forecourt filling out a form explaining why I couldn’t pay – and agreeing to return later that day to pay the money – what with, I ask, if my cards don’t work? I suggested to the man that it may be his machine that is faulty, and my cards are fine… this was rejected on the grounds that “someone bought some fuel earlier”.

But it get’s better… I am still in agony – kind of hunched over the desk…. and he takes my glucose drink back off me and says I can have the fuel, but not the drink… presumably had he had a syphon the fuel would have had to be returned too… I started off civilized…. but imagine the discussion… It wasn’t until I told him that I might die (I was getting quite desperate) that I was allowed to leave the shop… with a naughty boy slip and a bottle of glucose drink.

3:45 a.m. Arrive at hospital… they were expecting me, but there is no out of hours dental service.

4.00 a.m. See the out of hours GP, he doesn’t look in my mouth at all… asks me what drugs I am taking. He tells me I need Tramadol 100 mg 4 times a day. And that I have to see the dentist again.

4.10 a.m. Doctor can’t find any Tramadol, he writes me a prescription. I ask where the out of hours pharmacy is… and he tells me that there isn’t one unless you live in a big city…. So sitting in a large hospital, with the might of the NHS behind us, I ask what I have to do to get some drugs; the answer is that I have to wait for Tesco to open…. he has a cabinet of drugs behind him but nothing stronger than I already have. Is Tesco now part of the NHS front line services.

4:20 a.m. Waiting for out of hours doctor person (who is in the hospital) and out of hours dental person (who is on the phone) to arrange an appointment…

5:00 a.m. I now have an appointment – in Cambridge at 9:30 a.m.

5:30 a.m. Phone Barclays – nothing wrong with card…. they did not refuse it, it must be the machine at the garage.

5:40 a.m. Phone Tesco – they can’t find out if there is anything wrong with the card, because their system is down for maintenance…. I do hope things are working when I go for my prescription later…. Not keen on another “computer says no” moment.

I suspect the cards are fine.

S0, it is 6:27… I have to phone Tesco at 7:00am, Set off for the dentist at 8:15 a.m. Endure some more pain…. and then drive back to the petrol station to pay for my fuel…  Oh Joy

Ah – here is Freya – Freya has decided it in now Sunday and she wants some Coco Pops and to play Scrabble…

This entry was posted in Dentist, Why Me. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

